{ father’s day recipe: whiskey peach ginger barbecue baby back ribs }

father's day whiskey peach barbecue baby back ribs crawfish & crunches 2

{ father’s day recipe: whiskey peach barbecue baby back ribs }

Sorry folks, if you thought this one was going to be a healthy recipe, you are at the wrong blog. Since this blog is all about balance, after a week of clean eating I am treating my family and I to a little barbecue this Sunday. Now I am sure there are plenty of “paleo” barbecue sauce recipes out there, so go find one if that’s what your interested in. This recipe wasn’t about myself, it was about treating Dad!

Father's day whiskey peach barbecue baby back ribs crawfish & crunches

I combined some of my three favorite people’s recipe ingredients and cooking methods for the ribs into one heavenly recipe. It combines my husband and I’s favorite things about ribs. I love the sweet chunky peach preserves my mom puts in her sauce, and I love the cooking method that my great friend and great cook Heather uses. I also tend to love Pioneer woman so I threw in some of her ideas as well – mostly the whiskey. She just gets me. The husband hates when barbecue is sweet, so there are a few adjustments for him as well. See? We can all be happy!

father's day whiskey peach barbecue baby back ribs crawfish & crunches 3

Finally, I threw in a little seasoning at the end called Kissed by the Sun. They were kind enough to send me a sample of the “Ragin’ Cajun” organic seasoning blend. Can you image the possibilities when combining the terms “cajun” with “healthy”!? Right up my ally, since this blog is about cooking southern staples just slightly healthier.

Make sure to check out my Pinterest for more recipes.

Follow the blog on the homepage right hand side to receive recipes to your inbox.

Tag me on Instagram in your creations.

For 4:
  • 1 large slab baby back ribs
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Yellow Onion, Diced
  • 1 whole peach or nectarine, diced fine
  • 1/4 cup Whiskey
  • 12 ounces  Barbecue Sauce
  • 1/4  jar Peach Preserves
  • 1/3 cup ginger ale
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Peeled
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 T Kissed by the Sun Ragin’ Cajun seasoning

1) Preheat oven to 250. Heat your grill to high heat. Make sure to clean and rub down with oil on a towel so your meat doesn’t stick.

2) Pat your ribs dry and season liberally with salt and pepper. Now, if you aren’t afraid of spice, you can add your Cajun seasoning now to the ribs. If you are leery or if you have guests who are picky, let them garnish with it on their own once the ribs are plated.

3) Sear your ribs on high heat on grill only about 2 1/2 minutes per side.

4) In a large aluminum bin, dutch oven, or cast iron pot, place your onion and peaches then ribs. Pour over remaining ingredients and give it all a toss to coat the ribs.

5) Cover with foil and cook for at least 6 hours in the oven.

Pairs well with a side salad or my creamy crowd pleasin’ corn grits.

 

About the Blogger:

Shannon Gagnon is the recipe developer, food stylist and food photographer behind Crawfish & Crunches. She is known for turning delicious southern staples into slightly healthier versions that can be enjoyed all week long.  On her blog you can find just what the tagline says, “Realistic recipes, rich southern culture, and health conscious habits.” For inquiries about positioning your brand in front of Shannon’s followers click here. For the long version about how the site was born, read more. 

More Recipes:

{ New Orleans Beignets with Salted Caramel & Cream Cheese Icing }

{ cajun caviar }

{ low carb jambalaya skewers }

Leave a Reply

