Tasting Our Way Through Louisiana

I promised not to blog or even check e-mails while my guests were in town. It is too crucial to spend quality time with them and disconnect. But, I couldn’t help myself. The foodie in me exploded. There was just too many good southern food pics and restaurants to share! As I sip my morning coffee and the house it quiet – This time is ideal to write and share snippets of our New Orleans adventures.

Morning call beignets crawfish.n.crunches

First, we started off the morning with Morning Call Coffee Stand, an ancient New Orleans Coffee and beignet spot, serving since 1870. While I love the beignets, or the “French Quarter Donut” at the typical touristy Cafe Du Monde, I don’t love the parking or the lines in the rain. Morning Call has such character and the beignets come out hot.  The Cafe Au Lait is some of the smoothest coffee served with hot milk. After your last sip, visit the newspaper stand next door to travel back in time then Fleurty Girl for some quirky local themed apparel and gifts.

Morning call coffee stand crawfish.n.crunches

At lunchtime, we were on a hunt for some of the best fried chicken in the city. Top rated by nola.com, we headed for Mr. Ed’s. I wanted to take my guests to some dives, but without my husband along, I went for a white table cloth spot. The menu was to die for. I had been dreaming of crab stuffed merlitons so that I could get inspiration and make my own recipe later on. While the lighting wasn’t ideal on the merliton photo, I did snap a picture of the crispy battered fried chicken and smooth and creamy white beans.  The service was excellent and on a weekday, we lingered for hours.

Mr. Ed's fried chicken crawfish.n.crunches

The potato salad wasn’t “onion-y” and was made creamier than my northern guests were used to. The trout almondine was crispy, not fishy, and the veggies had a kick to them.

Mr Ed's trout almondine crawfish.n.crunches

Stay tuned for more eats!

2 thoughts on “Tasting Our Way Through Louisiana

  1. Pingback: Tastin’ Our Way Through New Orleans: Crawfish, Pralines, and Booze | Crawfish & Crunches

  2. Pingback: Tastin’ Our Way Through New Orleans: The Drago’s Seafood Experience | Crawfish & Crunches

Leave a Reply

